Play It Through

Stages of grief and lockdown, a dramatherapist shares thoughts

Elisabeth Kübler-Ross defines the five phases of grief as denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance. In this video, I apply this model to explore how people are coming to terms with lockdown, and all the many ways life has changed. I look at some of the social interactions and emotional responses at this time of adjustment which might be part of this grief.

Read more

Friend with a suicide wish

Research from the Princes Trust shows that the number of teenagers who think life is simply not worth living has doubled to 1 in 5. Teenage suicides have also nearly doubled in 5 years. These are stark statistics. It also means that most teenagers have at least one friend who thinks about killing themselves. I have spent years learning about psychology, mentoring, counselling and psychotherapy to learn skills in how to support clients in some very dark places. One of […]

Read more

Not hungry

In Greek mythology, there is a story about Echo and Narcissus. Echo had the prior misfortune to be caught in the cross fire between cheating Zeus and his jealous wife Hera. Hera responds by taking away Echo’s ability to speak, now she can only repeat the last thing someone else says. Meanwhile Narcissus angers Aphrodite because he is vain and arrogant so she causes him to fall in love with his own reflection. Echo sees Narcissus and falls in love […]

Read more

If they knew the “real” me

“Put on a happy face” The reason that in courts people promise to tell “the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth”, is because in real life we are rarely that honest. An everyday example “oh hi, how are you?” How are you going to answer? Most people, in most settings reply something like “yeah good, you?” Maybe sometimes they will say something a little less positive such as “been better” or “well you know”. Not very many […]

Read more
1 2